A Photo a Week Challenge: The Fruits of Your Labor

DSC_2314.jpg

My family bottles fruit. A lot. We had a lot of fruit trees on the quarter-acre property my parents’ small house sat on. There were apricots, apples, Italian prunes, plumes, nectarines, but most especially peaches. Two peach trees. Trees that produced a ton of fruit each year. Near the end of each summer, my mom and my grandmother would sit in our kitchen and preserve the “fruit of the week”. We had shelves and shelves of Mason jars like this one that we would make our way through throughout the year. My favorite was always the grape juice. Oh yeah.

Last night and tonight, I spent the evenings with my mother bottling peaches. We didn’t grow them, but we bought them, pealed them, cut them up, and boiled the…well…heck out of them so that they can now sit on our shelves to be eaten with great enthusiasm and delight throughout the next year or two.

So, what is something that you are particularly proud that you’ve accomplished?

IN A NEW POST CREATED FOR THIS CHALLENGE, SHARE A PHOTO OR TWO THAT SHOWS SOMETHING YOU TAKE GREAT SATISFACTION IN HAVING ACCOMPLISHED.

Everyone is welcome to participate, even if your blog isn’t about photography.

Here’s how it works:

  1. Each week, I’ll come up with a theme and post a photo that I think fits. You take photographs based on your interpretation of the theme, and post them on your blog (a new post!) anytime before the following Thursday, when the next photo theme will be announced.
  2. To make it easy for others to check out your photos, title your blog post “A Photo a Week Challenge: (theme of the week)” and be sure to use the “postaday″ and “Photo a Week” tags.
  3. Come back here and post a link to your image in the comments for this challenge.
  4. Follow nancy merrill photography so that you don’t miss out on weekly challenge announcements.

38 thoughts on “A Photo a Week Challenge: The Fruits of Your Labor”

  1. Hi Nancy! So sweet is the fruit of labour. Lovely to grow with so many trees and fruits. I used to make Jams and jellys and picles and sauces , when they were in season and cheap. Now stopped. Have a sweety, fruity day dear.

  2. The peaches look delicious! I remember my grandparents canning fruit, or freezer jam, raspberry was my favorite growing up! Love your photo as always! Here’s my take on the prompt for the week (hope it’s okay I’m combining two challenges in one!) – https://www.quaintrevival.com/why-did-you-start-blogging/ Hope you have a great week, thank you for hosting your weekly challenge, it is fun to participate in it!

  3. When my children were young, we lived in a house with an orchard at the side, and I made jams, and crumbles for the freezer – so many gifts from the earth. An art lost on me now, though. Thanks for this challenge. I’ll have to give it some thought.

  4. Wow!
    This looks so amazing, Nancy and it reminds me about how my grandmother used to make pickles from mangoes and lime in giant jars. Haven’t smelled that ticklish aroma for ages now.

Leave a comment