After Before One Photo Focus: Week 39

For the challenge this week, Stacy at Visual Venturing has provided a lovely photo by Loré Dombaj. Here is my final version

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, I started with the original image:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It really is a lovely image. I thought it would be interesting to bring more focus to the flowers in the center. First, I toned down the saturation on the background layer and then created a black and white layer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next, I erased a large, feathered circle in the center to bring out the colors from the background layer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next, I bumped up the saturation on only the reds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And finally, I deepened the contrast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To see more examples from this challenge, visit After Before One Photo Focus Week 39.

After-Before logo

Click the image above for rules on joining the fun!

17 thoughts on “After Before One Photo Focus: Week 39”

  1. Great use of selective colour, I considered using it here, but couldnt figure out how to do it to pick up all the different shades in the foliage so went another way. Lovely job!

  2. I’ve always liked the look of selective coloring but have never gotten it figured out. I really need to buckle down and learn how to do it.

    I loved the effect and how the picture turned out. Putting the rest of it to black and white really accentuated the patterns and the textures.

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

