After Before Friday One Photo Focus Week 35

This is my second time participating in Stacy Fisher’s After Before Friday challenge. This week, we were all given the same photo to process. Here’s the original:

Week 34 One Photo Focus image

First, I used PhotoShops’s RAW converter to make the following adjustments:

ABF Week 34 RAW settings

Here is the photo after opening it from the converter:

ABF One Photo Focus Week 34 step 1

Next, I changed the photo to black and white. Then I heightened the sharpness to give it a slightly gritty, urban feel.

ABF One Photo Focus Week 34 step 2

And finally, I added more fog using a gradient layer.

ABF One Photo Focus Week 34 final

For more from this challenge, visit After Before Friday One Photo Focus Week 35.

After-Before logo

Click the image above for rules on joining the fun!

20 thoughts on “After Before Friday One Photo Focus Week 35”

  1. Such basic, simple steps, Nancy, that results in a wonderful take on Manal’s image. Unlike Ben, I do like the gradient 🙂 As he says, it’s all a matter of personal taste! Thanks so much for participating again. It’s great to have you!

  2. Hey Nancy another different variation, I like the fog concept but would have preferred it a bit lighter and more misty I guess. Nice BW treatment, works well with the fog too 🙂

  3. I’m not sure I like the gradient layer either, but it did a wonderful job of covering up how dull the sky was. I’ll have to remember that for next time.

    Nancy

    1. Thanks! I’ve found the secret to changing a digital photo from color to black & white is enhancing saturation and contrast, so that you have more texture in the image than you need in color. 🙂 Good luck!

  4. I like the gradient you’ve added here, it adds a more mysterious feel to the image and makes me think of an American scene rather than London 🙂

Leave a Reply

