After-Before Challenge: Week 33

I found a new challenge this week. Stacy at Visual Venturing hosts the weekly After-Before Challenge. Some weeks, there is a photo submitted by someone else that everyone takes and processes. Most weeks, you pick from your library and do some processing. This week’s challenge is to select an image from your library to edit.

Here is my final photo:

AB Week 33 After

Here is my original photo:

AB Week 33 Before

This image was taken in Nikon RAW (NEF) format, so I began by enhancing the image in the RAW converter in PhotoShop. I bumped up the exposure, contrast, whites, clarity, and vibrance and bumped down the shadows and blacks. Once the image was open in PhotoShop, I created a layer to add additional contrast. Next, I created another layer to fade the saturation.  On the fade layer, I erase the foreground image with a soft brush it to let the vibrant colors on the lower layer come through. I then added one more layer between the contrast and fade layers to sharpen the foreground image, including some minor adjustments on the shadows and some major ones on the highlights.

To see more After-Before entries, visit After-Before Week 33.

After-Before logo

Click the image above for rules on joining the fun!

19 thoughts on “After-Before Challenge: Week 33”

  1. Welcome to ABF Forum, hope you enjoy it here. We may look crazy at first, but when you get to know us, you’ll realize I am the only one crazy around here. 😛 Lovely image, I like how you accentuated the colors, but would love to see a softer in-between version. Hope you don’t mind saying that, because I really like what you did.

  2. Welcome to the forum Nancy! Beautiful image, I like how you have accentuated the flowers, they are stunning. The before photo is lovely too, very subtle tones. Like Lore, I can’t help wondering what something in between the two would look like. P.S. this and the other pictures from your “spring” post are absolutely beautiful, especially when all is cold and drab outside! Thanks for sharing the link 🙂

    1. Thanks, Katie. The images in thenSpring post are a bit of in-between. I did some minor processing on them, but it was a beautiful early spring day when I took the photos,a dn they really didn’t much touching. 🙂

  3. Hi, Nancy! My apologies for taking so long to get to your post. I typically don’t take so long, but sometimes it happens. That being said, I really enjoy reading about approaches in Photoshop because it’s a program I’m not very adept with, so thanks for spelling out your process. I love how you’ve popped the foreground branch and flowers – giving the photo even more lovely depth. And it’s a welcome image since icy rain is falling as I type this 🙂 Thanks so much for participating, and we all hope you plan on continuing with the challenges!

Leave a Reply

